World Cup Features Soccer/Football Thrills, Drama and Embroidered Patches

Often called the greatest sporting event on the planet, the World Cup of soccer (or football as the rest of the world knows it, futbol for our Spanish speaking friends)  is administered by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA),  an association founded in 1904 and  based in Zurich, Switzerland.

The official FIFA World Cup emblem is often copied in unlicensed knockoffs.

The official FIFA World Cup emblem is often copied in unlicensed knockoffs.

WC unoffic Brazil  Each modern World Cup has featured a colorful embroidered patch for the event and many other embroidered  patches and emblems are created for national football  teams, fans and sponsors.

This year’s 2014 FIFA World Cup is being held in Brazil and the official patch features the country’s vibrant green and yellow colors. The world championship event has been held every four years since 1950, with events preceding in 1930 Uruguay, ’34 in Italy and ’38 France.  Prior to these tournaments, the Summer Olympics served as the world championship of football, but FIFA wanted its own championship and the Olympics had complicated rules regarding amateur status; professional athletes were not allowed to compete.

The modern World Cup era, post-World War II, has featured a variety of host countries and a number of champions, with the Brazilians and Germans dominating the overall competition.

1950 – Brazil host,  Uruguay champion

1954 –Switzerland host,  West Germany champion

1958 Sweden host,  Brazil champion

1962 Chile host, Brazil champion

1966 England host and champion (first  World Cup with an official logo)

1970 Mexico host, Brazil champion

1974 West Germany host and champion   

1978 Argentina host and champion

1982 Spain host, Italy champion

1986 Mexico host, Argentina champion

1990 Italy host, West Germany champion

1994 USA host, Brazil championOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1998 France host and champion

2002 South Korea/Japan host, Brazil champion

2006 Germany host, Italy champion 

2010 South  Africa host, Spain champion

2014 Brazil host, ??? champion

2018 Russia host

2022 Qatar host

With 209 national associations affiliated to FIFA today, the world football’s governing body has rightly been dubbed the “United Nations of Football “. Between 1975 and 2002 alone, more than 60 associations were accepted as members.

You can learn more about embroidered patches from the Chicago Embroidery Company at, or call 312/664-4232.